Request a Consultation
Lawyers meeting

Denver Assault Lawyer

Assault is a serious crime in Colorado, and a conviction can have harsh, long-term ramifications. If you are facing assault charges, an experienced Denver Assault Lawyer at the Bendinelli Law Firm can fight to protect your freedom and future. Call us today at 1-800-ATTORNEY to schedule a free consultation.

Why Choose Our Firm?

When your future is hanging in the balance, you need a criminal defense team that can get you the results you want. Our goal is to reduce or beat your charges by diligently studying your case and exercising all of your rights as a citizen. With decades of experience and knowledge, our talented team works hard to gather all the necessary evidence and facts to find potential flaws. We will question every aspect of your case and fight for justice on your behalf.

How a Denver Assault Lawyer Can Help

Every word you say and action you take in the wake of an arrest can impact your case’s defense. Hiring an assault lawyer as soon as possible can help to preserve certain defensive strategies that may reduce your charge or keep you from being convicted. They will know what evidence the other side is likely to rely on, how witness testimony can help or hurt you and can give you the most honest, realistic understanding of your situation.

Colorado Assault Laws and Penalties

Assault is defined as unlawfully causing injury to another person under Colorado law. Depending on the facts of a case, this crime may be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony, and there are three degrees of assault:

  • First-Degree Assault (18-3-202 C.R.S.): intentionally causing serious injury with a deadly weapon.
    • Penalties: This is the most serious assault charge under Colorado law and is classified as a Class 3 felony. It carries 8 to 24 years in prison and fines up to $750,000.
  • Second-Degree Assault (18-3-203 C.R.S.): intentionally causing serious injury without a deadly weapon.
    • Penalties: Class 4 felony, and it carries 4 to 12 years in prison and fines up to $500,000.
  • Third-Degree Assault (18-3-204 C.R.S.): negligently causing injury with a deadly weapon.
    • Penalties: misdemeanor assault charge, and it carries a potential 3 years in prison.

Four factors determine the actual charge in an assault case in Denver: if a deadly weapon was involved; if the perpetrator was acting intentionally, recklessly, or negligently; if the victim suffered bodily injury or “serious” bodily injury; if the victim was an on-duty law enforcement officer, firefighter, or another on-duty official.

Best Defenses to Assault

As with any criminal charge, the state has the burden to prove every element of an assault offense beyond a reasonable doubt. You will need a solid defense to defeat the charge(s), such as:


Self-defense is the most commonly used defense strategy. Many times in assault cases, the “victim” is the one who made the first aggressive move against the defendant.

Defense of Others

Similar to the self-defense concept, but unique in that this defense justifies the use of threats or physical force to protect someone from another person’s threats. The person being defended must have been able to use self-defense justifiably.

Defense of Property

If you committed a violent act to protect your home, you might have had legal justification to do so. Colorado recognizes the defense of property as a justification for assault in some circumstances. However, asserting this defense effectively without increasing your risk of conviction takes a careful approach.


An immediate threat of death or serious bodily injury or actual use of physical force coerced you into committing assault.

Constitutional Violations

There were violations of your constitutional rights. For instance, Miranda rights violations; self-incriminating statements that were coerced, denied the right to counsel.

Contact Us for a Free Consultation

If you have been charged with assault in Denver, we will help you fight to avoid a criminal conviction. Our attorneys can help you seek justice after being accused of domestic violence, theft, or drug crimes. Contact us online or call 1-800-ATTORNEY today.