Weapons offenses carry severe penalties in Colorado. To defend yourself effectively, you need an experienced Denver weapons charges lawyer on your side. At the Bendinelli Law Firm, our team has decades of legal experience and the skills to protect your rights and provide a better chance for reduced charges or a reduced sentence. To schedule a free initial consultation, call 1-800-ATTORNEY or contact us online.
The Denver weapons charges lawyers at our firm are knowledgeable litigators with considerable trial experience. We have been fighting for Colorado residents for more than 25 years, and our firm is deeply familiar with weapon laws. Our team can provide you with the skilled representation you need to build the strongest defense possible. The penalties for weapons crimes can be harsh. Choosing the right defender can make a significant impact on your case’s outcome and future.
The most serious gun and weapons charges can carry severe penalties in Colorado. Examples of common weapons-related charges are:
Even the most minor weapons-related charges are classified as Class 2 misdemeanors, which carry possible penalties of three months to one year in jail and fines ranging from $250 to $1000. Violent crimes with firearms, criminal possession of firearms, and criminal negligence with firearms may all be prosecuted as felonies, punishable by extensive prison sentences and hefty fines.
There is a myriad of complex local, state, and federal laws that regulate the ownership, purchasing, carrying, selling, and use of guns. People who wish to own a firearm in Colorado do not need a permit or license but do need a special permit issued by a county sheriff if they want to carry a concealed handgun. However, open carry is subject to local regulation, and it is not allowed in Denver. The city also bans all assault weapons.
Residents are legally allowed to use deadly force inside their homes to protect themselves and others from intruders under the “castle” doctrine. There is no “stand your ground” law in Colorado, so anyone who feels threatened outside of their home must first attempt to retreat and may only use deadly force as a last resort.
People with civil protection orders (restraining orders) issued against them must turn in any guns they own and cannot obtain more for the protection order’s duration.
If you are facing a weapons charge in Denver, turn to the Denver criminal defense attorneys at Bendinelli Law Firm for aggressive representation regardless of whether you have been charged with theft or domestic violence. We will do what it takes to ensure your rights and future are protected. Call 1-800-ATTORNEY today to schedule your free consultation.