The Colorado law protects the rights of distracted driving victims.
In 2014, Colorado witnessed 486 road fatalities, according to the Colorado Department of Transportation, with 43 of the accidents reported in Denver.
During the same period, many more motorists were seriously injured during the collisions. This is a true reflection of the constant risk and unending danger motorists in Denver face while on the road.
Distracted driving is one of the major causes of fatalities in Colorado. However, it’s the easiest to prevent. Focusing on driving and paying attention to the road on the part of drivers can help reduce collisions and thus save many lives.
In 2013, according to NHTSA, distracted driving caused more than 3,100 deaths in the wider US nation. If drivers focused on the road and avoided distractions, lives lost through such accidents would have been saved.
A Denver car accident lawyer can help victims of distracted driving to file claims for damages and injuries afflicted during such crashes.
Mobile phone use is the most widespread issue in matters regarding distracted driving. More than 660,000 drivers, according to NHTSA, use their phones every moment, every day.
Each time a driver decides to use his or her phone to text or make a call, they divert their attention and eyes off the road for at least five seconds. When traveling at 55 mph, this time is enough to cover the length of a football field hence the risk of causing a fatality.
Colorado has laws in place that restrict drivers from using their mobile phones while driving. For instance, drivers below 18 years are not allowed to use mobile phones while driving, whatsoever. However, drivers at least 18 years old are allowed to make phone calls only; no manual entering of information onto phones like texting.
However, drivers have exceptions in the law on usage of their mobile phones when contacting a public safety entity or having an emergency like the need to report a fatality, fire, criminal act, or even a road hazard.
A distracted driver while using a mobile phone can be fined $50 for a first offense and $100 for a second offense. However, they are legally obliged to pay for damages caused.
Victims of distracted driving, specifically a texting driver, can use the services of a Denver car accident lawyer to file for compensation for injuries, medical expenses, lost wages and even pain or suffering caused. We invite you to contact the Bendinelli Law Firm to discuss the specifics of your situation.